Last updateFri, 23 Jan 2015 11am

Crawford Electric members invited to co-op’s annual meeting on September 10

    The big American flag will again mark the entrance to the annual meeting of members of Crawford Electric Cooperative, set for Wednesday, September 10, at the co-op at 10301 N. Service Rd., between Bourbon and Sullivan.

    The 74th annual meeting will be held in the vehicle storage facility.
    All co-op members received official notice of the meeting in their September Rural Missouri magazines. Vehicles will park in fields on the co-op’s 60-acre campus, and shuttles will transport attendees to the garage. Watch for signs and flaggers on the day of the meeting. All members will enter and exit through the east delivery entrance.
    There is no access to the meeting venue from the front customer parking lot.
    Registration of members will start at 8 a.m.; the meeting will convene at 10 a.m. The Sullivan High School Show Choir is scheduled to perform before the meeting. The Sons of Britches band from Branson will entertain in the afternoon.
    The annual meeting offers members the opportunity to elect fellow members to the co-op’s board of directors and to learn more about the cooperative utility they own. The special guest speaker this year is Barry Hart, CEO of the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives.
    Business at the meeting will include the election of directors and a discussion and vote on a proposed bylaw change.
    The director election is contested in two races: a three-way contest for a one-year term in District 1, and a choice between two candidates for a three-year term in District 2. Additional information about the candidates may be found under the Commitment to Community tab on the co-op’s website: Two other directors will be elected by motion during the business session because they are uncontested in their re-election bids.
    The bylaw change proposal will be handled during the business session. Registered members will receive voting cards and instructions during that portion of the event.
    Members registered at annual meeting will receive a $5 electric credit and will be eligible to win one of several attendance prizes to be drawn during the meeting. The grand prize is a $250 electric credit. Registered members also will be served a lunch cooked by the Crawford County Cattlemen.
    Crawford Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy, a national alliance of locally owned, community-minded electric co-ops with high standards of service.
    Crawford Electric serves more than 19,000 meters along more than 3,300 miles of distribution lines in Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Washington and Dent counties.